NDIS SIL Service in Western Australia

Aastha Community Services

Supporting extreme needs with Specialist Disability Accommodation (SIL Service)

Along with the core support services that the NDIS providers facilitate, certain individuals require a bit more in terms of the support system available and the services rendered by the support personnel, due to their extreme functional impairments or very high support needs.

These individuals would need specialist housing solutions, assistance with the delivery of the support services and around-the-clock availability of support personnel to help the individuals with their daily tasks. To support individuals who require such a level of care, NDIS is offering Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA).

With only 6 percent of the participants being granted the NDIS SDA funding, which also includes those individuals with mental health disabilities, NDIS will pay for the cost of the building they live in.

The NDIS assesses the individual’s needs and recommends the type of SDA design category, building type, and appropriate location. An SDA provider could be a private landlord, a family member of the individual, or an NDIS disability support service provider. 

This does not include the expenses incurred for paying the house rent or for the personnel who provide the support. These expenses could be included under the NDIS SIL Service. NDIS has made a clear distinction between SDA service and Supported Independent Living. 

Being one of the highly-rated disability support providers in Western Australia, Aastha has been helping eligible individuals in finding the right NDIS Accommodation with amenities including and not limited to better wayfinding, wheelchair access and impact-resistant building materials. In addition, Aastha will provide NDIS SIL service at these SDA facilities  to support the individuals to complete their daily tasks and live as independently as possible.

Aastha has been supporting NDIS participants across various locations including Perth, Joondalup, Mirrabooka, Morley, Osborne Park, Victoria Park, Canningvale, Maddington, Armadale, Cockburn Central, Kwinana, Rockingham, and Mandurah.